Swedish Bastion in Salaspils
During the Swedish-Polish war of 1600-1621 on the right bank of the Daugava near Salaspils, one of the most remarkable battles of early 17th century took place on September 27, 1605 – the Battle of Kirchholm (the German toponym for Salaspils). In this battle, the troops of Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth, notably the chivalry led by Jan Karol Hodkiewitcz, clashed Swedish infantry units three times the size by cunning maneuvers. However, Swedish troops captured Riga after siege in 1621. The bitter experience of the battle of Kirchholm made military administration conclude in 1660-1670s about construction of huge bastion on the previous battlefield arranged for permanent garrison of 500 to 800 soldiers. The so-called Swedish Bastion included military quarters, arsenal building, windmill, bakery, smithy and depots. Bastion was built to protect and control important transit road crossings near Riga. Bastion was in use until early 18th century, later abandoned and deconstructed in 1970s because of building of Riga HPS, investigated by archaeologists before that.
